2013ish…

Image

New Years Eve. My favorite holiday. There is something about the magic in counting down to infinite possibilities. No one knows what the coming year will hold. Normally, I am not a huge fan of life’s uncertainties, but on NYE, I find a comfort that you can fully put the past behind you and have a fresh start. That’s a lot of pressure on a calendar page.

New Years Eve was fine. I had fun. I went out with my friend Enric [smart, funny, social, pictured above], vacationing from Barcelona and his lovely friend, Samantha [sassy, thin, silently strong]. I met up with Erica [hilarious, gorgeous, personality dopperlganger], one of the people that I met in 2012 that I have come to be most thankful for in my life; and her lovely boyfriend, Nic [hilarious, sweet, pocket-sized]. I also met my friends James [artistic, dapper, ridiculously nice], his girlfriend C’ne [petite, welcoming, very adorable], and their friend This White Bitch/Natalie [she was very beautiful, but I swear each time someone called her by name, it was different and those are the only ones I remember]. The event, Formerly Known As (FKA), was great. FKA always has great DJs spinning interesting mixes and lots of unique, attractive people. We drank, danced, and were merry.

Getting home was a train wreck that took two hours. I get cranky when I am overly tired, overly hungry, and overly sober around drunk people. I hit the triple play of all three. I started cursing the evening. I said it was my last NYE celebration.

In the light of a new afternoon, I don’t think it will be my last NYE outing. Life is too beautiful not to be properly celebrated. However, I feel that times have definitely changed. I am older. I feel it every day. Introducing myself to new people in bar settings proves it. I met girls partying for a 21st birthday. It seems the median bar age was 24. Ulllllggggghhhh. I get strange satisfaction in staying in paying a bill. I will take a good dining experience over a far-too-long bar night any day. I find the screen-written dialogues of my favorite TV shows much more intriguing than many of the fleeting bar conversations. Am I over it???

Watching couples at the venue, I realized that is what I want. I want the comfort of a person who thinks I’m beautiful in grey sweatpants, no makeup (like John Mayer does, but not in a racist, pretentious dick way). I want the stability of not having to hunt someone down because my next intimate touch is minutes away. I want meaningful conversations not slathered in liquor.

This concludes NYE 2013 Lonely Girl Blues.

I have read that For Auld Lang Syne loosely translates to “for (the sake of) old times”. I that case, I feel that because of the past, I am committed to staying positive in 2013. I want to gain the lesson in every situation. Last night’s lesson: I have got to find a way/place to make meaningful connections with others that last past intoxication and beyond social media.

Challenge accepted.

Leave a comment